How to manage a new job and your menu???

So we have been struggling quite a bit lately on bills ever since I lost my job. Its been hard to make things wor but one of the things that saved us was our menu planning. I started it in May and gave myself a $50-$75 weekly budget on groceries. I was doing awesome, cooking every night which I had never done before, taking pride in my meals, keeping the house clean and so many other things I had never done before I was jobless.

This past Tuesday, just two short days ago I dropped off my application at a local diner that was hiring. I have been in the restaurant business for over 3 years and had experience in working in diners. My timing was perfect or it was just really meant to be, because I was hired within 10 min of walking in the door, no interview, no calling my references, nothing. I did know one of the fellow employees, but he wasn’t even there. The manager asked me when I could start, I said tomorrow (meaning Wednesday) and he replied with I really wanted someone to start today at 4. Now mind you its only 2pm but my response was I can start then that’s no problem! Two short hours later I was back starting my first shift at my new job.

Its now Thursday and one meal was cooked on my menu and it wasn’t cooked by me at all. My shifts are from 4-12  and since its all brand new I don’t have anything made before I leave the house or anything. My husband isn’t going to fallow the menu, which is fine because he isn’t eating out right now either. I am really worried that once I start working again my menu will go out the window and we will fall back down into the deep hole of eating out. I mentioned that to my husband and he half jokingly said ‘that’s okay we will have more money now.’ I don’t want that to happen. I have a feeling that I am going to making A LOT of meals with my crock-pot, I also think that I will probably not be able to venture into the home made baking things that I really want to do.

How do you manage a job, a two year old, a house, and a menu all at the same time?? I am not sure if I am going to be able to do it. I am trying not to be discouraged by this week because it was so out of the blue. We had no idea I was going to start wor this week, and especially not the day I dropped off my application. I am blessed that I got the job, I am just nervous of whats going to happen in my home. I am not sure if I will be working days or nights, or if I will even have a set schedule. I will only have 3-4 days a week which will be nice but its still nerve wracking!!! If you have any tips PLEASE let me in on them. Also because I know I want to start utilizing my crock pot more I am going to add another category to my recipe contest….. CROCK POT MEALS

Side Note:
I just one a give away that is a pay it forward give away, where if you win you have to start a give a way and link back to the blog that you just won from. So tonight I am going to think of what I am going to give away and how I am going to pick the winner! Be on the look out for it tomorrow!!!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nikki P.
    Aug 06, 2009 @ 22:16:47

    Have you ever considered using a Franklin Planner? I know that sounds so nerdy. But I was required to use one for a former job I had … even sent to a Franklin Planner day of training! I now LOVE my Franklin Planner and could not live without it. It has a schedule for each day, as well as a to-do list. You label items A, B, and C for how important they are., then check them off as you get each task accomplished. It’s really all about time management. I will show you mine when I visit! And yes, it utilizes PAPER, not computers. I am an old-fashioned gal. 😉

    Reply

  2. Nikki P.
    Aug 06, 2009 @ 22:17:42

    Here is my idea: Have you ever considered using a Franklin Planner? I know that sounds so nerdy. But I was required to use one for a former job I had … even sent to a Franklin Planner day of training! I now LOVE my Franklin Planner and could not live without it. It has a schedule for each day, as well as a to-do list. You label items A, B, and C for how important they are., then check them off as you get each task accomplished. It’s really all about time management. I will show you mine when I visit! And yes, it utilizes PAPER, not computers. I am an old-fashioned gal. 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

