Aloha Friday-First one, lets give it a try!!!

So over at www.islandlife808.com Is a little thing called Aloha Friday!

You basically ask a question and then people answer the question in the form of a comment…. You can go then link your post to the main post and see many more links of other peoples questions!!! Sounds interesting and fun so I am going to give it a try!!

I have been trying to figure out how to organize my recipes lately. I have tons of them on cards, ripped from magazines, on loose pieces of paper, book marked onto my computer, inside me recipe notebook…everywhere….. It is driving me crazy. I just started cooking about a month and a half ago when I started menu planning and really want to start looking through my recipes for the ones I might use and the ones I will never use… It will be a process that’s for sure!!!!

so my question, and I am sure it has been asked before…next week I will be more creative dont worry!!

How do you organize your recipes and do you have any ideas or tips for me????

27 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jennifer
    Jul 30, 2009 @ 23:46:30

    I do not have any recipes organised at all. I have cookbooks that I trust and like and grab whichever I am in the mood.

    Reply

  2. Kekibird
    Jul 30, 2009 @ 23:52:25

    Happy 1st Aloha Friday!

    I wish I had some answer for you but I tend to stay out of the kitchen :o/ Between not having time or any patience, cooking isn’t my thing.

    Reply

  3. Michelle
    Jul 30, 2009 @ 23:59:18

    I have a recipe book collection and just grab something, but for my own recipes or the ones I get from family and friends I like to add them to the Betty Crocker Recipe book for the computer . . . can’t remember exactly the title, but look up Betty crocker software. It’s excellent.

    Reply

  4. heatherlyn
    Jul 31, 2009 @ 00:23:26

    Oh goodness. I love recipes and recipe books. Probably even more than cooking. And I’m not sure the best way to organize them yet. They are (mostly) all in one place. But that’s not super helpful. I kind of have to remember what recipes are in which books, and I must have over a hundred books. And then there is the issue of the recipes I store online. I love http://www.tasteofhome.com. If you’ve never been there, you might like it. They have SO MANY recipes and pictures that go with them. I love it. I have a recipe box on there and if all my recipes were in there I could probably search through them pretty easily as you can search by ingredient or occasion. But, as I said, a lot of my recipes are in books. So …. if you get a great recipe organizing idea for recipes stored in different mediums I’d love to know.

    Reply

  5. Jeremy
    Jul 31, 2009 @ 00:26:35

    Sorry, this is out of my league but if I had to organize them I would write a software that would store them all in a database and make it easy to share and receive comments on them. šŸ™‚

    Reply

  6. Kailani
    Jul 31, 2009 @ 01:18:41

    I keep all of mine on Scanalog. I had the opportunity to review it and loved it!

    Reply

  7. Becca
    Jul 31, 2009 @ 01:29:03

    Welcome to Aloha Friday! My recipes are not organized at all so you don’t want any advice from me lol

    Reply

  8. Nikki P.
    Jul 31, 2009 @ 02:32:11

    Scrapbook them! You could even include photos of your “finished” dishes, and write notes about what you did to change them. It would be a lot of work, but you are a very visual person, and I think scrap-booking them would be fun and useful!

    Reply

  9. Ave @ Made in Canarias
    Jul 31, 2009 @ 02:55:09

    My recipes are not organized :S

    Reply

  10. Janet F
    Jul 31, 2009 @ 05:49:57

    I don’t clip recipes. I have a few favorite cookbooks that I use. If I find a recipe online that I like I bookmark it.

    Reply

  11. Nina
    Jul 31, 2009 @ 05:51:18

    My recipes are in a big pile in a basket in the corner on the counter. Unfortunately, organized I am not.

    Reply

  12. Upstatemomof3
    Jul 31, 2009 @ 07:40:49

    My recipes are everywhere, completely unorganized. It is awful!! I have a box and in the bos they are organized by food type – chicken recipes, beef recipes, bread recipes, etc. I like that system but all too often I do not put the recipes in the box when I am done cooking. šŸ˜¦

    Reply

  13. Angie
    Jul 31, 2009 @ 07:51:49

    I sort mine in an index card file, with tabs sorting by category.

    Reply

  14. angie
    Jul 31, 2009 @ 08:06:44

    I have mine in a folder with pockets to hold those little recipe cards that you get as well as note paper to hold the recipes we love to copy

    Reply

  15. shelly
    Jul 31, 2009 @ 08:34:49

    I have two recipe boxes with index cards to organize them. But I don’t really cook much so I don’t really use recipes. lol They are from my mom-in-law but I just don’t get into cooking.

    Reply

  16. Heather
    Jul 31, 2009 @ 08:39:53

    Aloha:) Well, I do a horrible job at organizing mine. BUT, some of my favorites I have put into a plastic sleeve and then stuck into a binder, so I can just pull it out when I’m making it…otherwise, they get coated with the food and eventually lost:) I also just use those little library page things to mark favorites in my cookbooks.

    Reply

  17. TheAngelForever
    Jul 31, 2009 @ 08:49:16

    We used to use index cards, but that was not working. Now we have a 3 ring binder for items that we use a lot. Of course it would help if I put some dividers and actually organized it some šŸ˜‰

    Reply

  18. ParentingPink
    Jul 31, 2009 @ 09:04:58

    Welcome to Aloha Friday! I actually have a scrapbook of sorts that I keep all my recipe clippings in. I organize it by favorite recipes, holiday recipes, etc. It’s nothing fancy, but it’s keeps me organized – somewhat šŸ˜‰

    Reply

  19. blueviolet
    Jul 31, 2009 @ 11:29:36

    Once a recipe is tried and true, I put it on an index card and it goes into my recipe box. But before that, it’s a haphazard mess around here.

    Reply

  20. Baba
    Jul 31, 2009 @ 13:37:35

    I am very unorganized and right now they are all in storage until The Stone House is done.

    Reply

  21. Stacie
    Jul 31, 2009 @ 15:45:55

    My recipes are not organzied. At a time I had them by Appetizer, cookie, cake, chicken, pork, beef, etc…

    Reply

  22. thatmommy
    Jul 31, 2009 @ 16:20:02

    i don’t even think i have any recipes to organize. lol.

    Reply

  23. Deb
    Jul 31, 2009 @ 19:14:03

    No recipes here either. They’re usually on the package.

    Reply

  24. Erin @ Closing Time
    Jul 31, 2009 @ 19:21:33

    I have my favorites in a 3-ring binder. Many are printed off of the internet. I put the pages into protective plastic sleeves so that if food splatters on them I can just wipe it off.

    Reply

  25. LZ
    Jul 31, 2009 @ 19:27:07

    I use recipezaar, and like it a lot. I’m not much of a cook, but like that I can print out a whole shopping list and can upload my own recipes.

    Reply

  26. jojackhoarde
    Jul 31, 2009 @ 21:41:33

    I have 2 plastic pocket folders for recipes I have pulled out and will try one day. One for sweets and desserts and one for meals and sides.

    I then have a lever arch folder which tabs in it and here I print out the recipes 95% of the household like (6 people) after they hav e been tried a couple of time and tweaked to “perfection”. This is the filing place and where I go for our family favorite meals. The pages all have a photo (normally scanned from the magazine or whereever cause my creations never look quite as good even if they taste great) and the normal recipe information and some tweak informaiton and ideas.

    Reply

  27. Audrey
    Jul 31, 2009 @ 22:34:01

    I have mine on pieces of paper all over the place šŸ˜¦ They really are not organized at all.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

