The start of a new beginning

Hello my name is Magen, I am new to the whole blog thing, and I must admit, I am a bit nervous. I have wanted to start a blog since I lost my job back in April, and I finally did it. Currently, I am a stay at home mother of a rambunctious two and a half year old. She is the light of my life (her father is pretty shinny too) and the main reason I get out of bed each day. I have been suffering with depression on and off since I was nine years old. It came back and hasn’t left since I had Janice in 2006. I am hoping that having an outlet will help me deal with some of that.

I have just started menu planning, and starting on Monday, I am going to link you  to www.orgjunkie.com on her Menu Plan Monday site. I will be making a special section of this blog just for recipes, and I am going to try my hardest through the week to upload my recipe, along with a picture of the dish!!!

I have also been slowly getting my house into shape! My house was a complete mess and we never had any company, it caused a lot of problems with the extended family, some which have ceased to disappear. I found a site a month ago now that has saved my life, and my house. I will be posting progress photos and stories in this blog as well.

I was a very artistic person, but in November I stopped all of my hobbies completely. My plan is to slowly start them all up again, once I get my ‘studio’ organized. I am hoping that I can post tips, tricks, projects, and pictures of all my little arts that I do.

A fun thing that I want to do, to get my blog more interactive and exciting is to have contests. What better way to start a blog then with a contest, so thats what I am going to do. I have just started cooking dinner every night, and I am not good at making things up, I have to have a recipe and step by step directions (which is why I am so good at baking). Well my  contest is going to be a recipe contest. My next post will be all about the contest, prizes, submissions, and the such! My goal is to have it posted by tonight!!

Through out this whole process, you will learn more about me. Ultimately I will learn more about me also! I am not writing this because I want to become famous, or have a large group of readers. I am writing this for me, and because I know for a fact there are other people out there going through some of the same things that I am going through. I just want you to know you are not alone!!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. successdiva
    Jul 17, 2009 @ 01:31:03

    Megan, This is Alexis. I am so pleased that you found my blog. Yes, I am very honest in sharing personal details about myself and my life. I feel that this is the only way that I can enable people to say how easily I can relate to them and empathize with them. I have struggled off and on with anorexia since age 13, and I have had clinical depresssion for years. There are days even now that are tremendously difficult for me. I would love it if you would add me to your friends at Facebook.
    Also, thank you for starting your blog!! There need to be more blogs like yours. . .and mine. I look forward to us supporting and encouraging each other, Megan. Together, we can conquer depression!
    ~Alexis, The Success Diva
    xx

    http://successdiva.wordpress.com/
    http://groups.yahoo.com/group/successdiva/

    Reply

  2. Da Mouse
    Jul 18, 2009 @ 09:30:52

    Congratulations on starting a blog. 🙂 I’m am sorry to hear about your job loss and battles with depression. I do hope that this blog will be a good outlet for you and that you can get your studio cleaned up to do some art projects. I know what you mean about getting a art/craft room ready because I’m in the process of doing that myself. I probably shouldn’t be on here and should be cleaning out that room, lol.

    Anyway, thanks for your comment on my cake blog! We did have a blast. All the girls (and adults) had so much fun. By the night was over I think the adults were ready for some celery or something–cake, smores, general candy everywhere. hehe…

    Good luck on your blog endeavor! I can’t wait to see your creativity unfold, again. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

